Authors! Beware of NOOK!

Over a year ago I decided to post one of my novels on Amazon as an eBook. At the same time some Nook users urged me to post it on Barnes &Noble so I did and it was right there on their site. My novel did fairly well on Amazon – but oddly I never heard anything from Nook. Was it possible that not one Nook user bought my novel? Seemed unlikely since some Nookers had requested me to post it with B&N.

Fast forward to last week. Since Nook had shown NO results, I wanted do drop it from that platform so I could list my novel in Amazon’s KDP which requires that they have the book exclusively. So I tried to log into B&N’s author page. Surprise! It refused each of the only three email addresses I use. So I “chatted” with B&N and explained that I wanted to drop my book from their library. Of course, I was referred to another department. There followed a series of emails which culminated in – are you ready for this – a B&N representative SAID SHE COULD NOT FIND MY BOOK ON THEIR SITE and asked me for the link to it!

There was no problem finding the book. I just went to B&N and searched “Tropical Knights” and there it was. Yet B&N couldn’t seem to find it!

Now, what is the conclusion? B&N obviously doesn’t have any information on me in their data base. So B&N may have sold ten-thousand copies of my book, or maybe none but how can I know if THEY don’t know?

I am still trying to get my book OFF Nook but the emails have stopped so I have no idea of what B&N is or isn’t doing. I do know this – if I ever get my novel off Nook I will never deal with Barnes & Noble again and if you are an author I advise you to keep a close eye on their dealings. My experience with them shows a sloppy operation. You could be a Nook best-seller – and never even know it.

About johnbeckmanbooks

John Beckman, a retired meteorologist, was known as “Johnny the Weatherman” in a career that spanned forty years. He forecasted the weather on WSJS-TV in Winston-Salem, NC, at WFGA-TV in Jacksonville, FL, and for thirty-three years in Atlanta at WSB-TV and WXIA-TV. Also a well published author Beckman now devotes full time to writing fiction. He currently has several eBooks on Amazon.com, "Tropical Knights," first in a series of adventure/mysteries about a sailor and his lovely CIA cohort on a mission to save America. Now available the sequel, and second in the series: "Tropical Daze." The third Jack & Amy adventure is "Tropical Rage" which became available on 30 April 2014. All of his books are highlighted on http://johnbeckmanbooks.com and available from Amazon.com. . .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment